Ralf Metzenmacher
The Artwork
Collections
Latest News
Showrooms
Press
Shop
Contact us
Currently you are here >> FAQ
FAQ - Ralf Metzenmacher

What sort of music do you prefer to listen to?
Pop/Rock bands like the Strokes, Pearl Jam, Maximo Park. But also German bands like Kira and TempEau.
What is your favourite current song and why?
A Lady of a Certain Age by The Divine Comedy - a completely sentimental song with great lyrics and music that fits the south of France perfectly.
Are you interested in fashion?
No. Basically I don't think things like that are very important.
But you do create paintings that suit particular lifestyles?
Yes I do. I've learnt how to create a very successful product and I've also learnt what it is that these products need in order to fit into the customer's world. To do that, you have to be able to put yourself and your own feelings to one side and put yourself in the position of the target group. Most people are unable to do that and therefore close themselves off from other people. That can lead to something that might look good but has nothing to do with the person for whom it is intended. A miss is as good as a mile!
If you were so successful at design, why did you give it up?
After more than 28 collections it was gradually getting boring and anyway I hate variations of variations. PUMA had reached the end of its most inventive phase. It transferred its recipe for success to other sports and jogged on in the same vein. It became all about commerce. Profit, profit, profit. It got to the stage where the people themselves were no longer perceived as important.
What was your most successful product at PUMA?
Speed Cat and its successor Future Cat from the motor sport collection, the retro-inspired line of bags and, of course, footballs.
If you had your time over again, would you still choose to work at PUMA?
Yes. Every time. PUMA was my life and I learned a lot.
You have travelled a lot with your work. Have you got to know interesting people along the way?
Yes. I met loads of interesting people, from really likeable Pakistani paddy farmers to top designers, actors and millionaires. And those that led the simplest lives were always the happiest. Having lots of money hasn't made anybody that I met happy.
Why have you chosen to live in Bamberg?
I've got to know most of the capital cities around the world and stumbled across many wonderful and beautiful places but with Bamberg it was love at first sight.
Does the perfect design exist?
Yes and for me it's the Aston Martin DB9. It's got fantastic proportions. Every line is perfect and it doesn't have too much. No aerofoil, no air scoop. That's it. Racing with style.
So why didn't you work at Aston Martin?
Aston Martin is already set up perfectly. I believe that my contribution to art can bring about a big change. Nobody but me appears to see the significance of retro in art. There's just an awful lot still to be done in this area. It's about opening people's eyes.
Who has influenced your painting?
Two superb painters: Francisco de Zurbaran, a Spaniard from the 17th century, and Giorgio Morandi, an Italian who died in 1964.
Why do you paint still life of all things?
When I was studying Francisco Zurbaran's paintings, it was the tranquillity of the kneeling Francis of Assisi and the "quiet corners" in his large paintings that particularly appealed to me. This way of turning in on oneself captivated me and so by degrees I came across his still lifes and began to see them as something very distinctive. They give a Spanish view of everyday life and avoid the pomposity of the Flemish and the Dutch still lifes. I was impressed by that and began to ask myself how I could portray my own world in a contemporary way. That was the starting point of the work I did for my degree "Objects come into the picture".


Why don't you paint people?
I can draw people very well. You can see that if you take a look at the sketches for "Beach of my dreams". And ultimately I studied life drawing. My painting technique is shaped by the idea that the only things that should be painted realistically are the things which we can't see. As a result, people tend to look as if they have been mis-painted. But why should I change the way people look? I want to offer an explanation for their behaviour and I don't need to paint them to do that - in a similar way to Zurbaran's still lifes.
Do you listen to music when you're painting?
Always. I find music extremely inspiring and when music and lyrics merge together, you can end up with the perfect song - depending on your mood.
Where do you get your inspirations from?
From experience and observation. I've already got so much to draw from and I'm adding to those experiences every day. Now I am much more aware of my subconscious now than I was when I was younger. And I now have the self-confidence to stand by my view of the world and to withstand any potential criticism.
How long do you need to create a picture?
Around three months. My technique is not compatible with fast work. However, I usually work on several paintings at the same time.
What would you like to see in the world of art?
Candour instead of fashionable frippery. I would like to see museums compelled to manage without subventions and galleries with an appreciation of art rather than commerce.
Where has contemporary art gone wrong in your opinion?
I think Joseph Beuys is the most missunderstood artist of the 20th century. He opened a door into art for any idiot and now they traipse around believing that they have to bestow their favour on this rubbish, although it has absolutely nothing to say.
Is there anything that you can't stand?
Yes. When somebody intentionally paints an object that already exists in the real world. That makes no sense and is just a way for the artist to keep himself busy. The viewer could just as well look at a photograph which would represent the object more precisely.
What do you hate the most?
Opportunism, ignorance and that most people who are well off tend to look down on others. And the obsession with appearance as opposed to substance.
You are in your early 40s. Do you still have goals in life?
Of course. After the turbulent and stressful times in industry, I would like to devote myself to the really important things in life. The endless search for wealth makes no sense and I have always been afraid of living in an enormous house with an electric golden gate. You only buy something like that when you really don't know what to do with your money. Looking ahead, I believe there's the chance of doing something that has real meaning in my remaining 30 years or so. Something that doesn't just have meaning for me but for others too. And that's why I would like to pass on my knowledge to younger people.

...back
Ralf Metzenmacher | Am Leinritt 9a 96049 Bamberg | Tel: +49 (0) 951 95 70 174 | eMail: info@ralf-metzenmacher.com | Imprint

Ralf Metzenmacher
Die Kunst
Collections
Aktuelles
Showrooms
Presse
Shop
Kontakt
Sie befinden sich hier >> FAQ
FAQ - Ralf Metzenmacher

Was für Musik hörst Du am liebsten?
Pop/Rock-Bands wie The Strokes, Pearl Jam, Maximo Park, aber auch Kira und TempEau.
Dein aktueller Lieblingstitel? Und warum?
A Lady of a Certain Age von The Divine Comedy - ein total sentimentaler Song mit einem tollen Text und der unglaublich nach Südfrankreich passenden Musik.
Interessiert Dich Mode und Fashion?
Nein, ich halte diese Dinge im Grunde genommen für unwichtig.
Aber Du machst doch Bilder, die zu einem bestimmten Lifestyle passen?
Das stimmt. Ich habe gelernt, wie man sehr erfolgreich Produkte kreiert und was diese Produkte haben müssen, um in die Welt der Kunden zu passen. Man braucht dazu die Fähigkeit, sich selbst nicht so wichtig zu nehmen; und man muss sich dann in die Zielgruppe hineinversetzen. Das können die meisten Menschen nicht und schließen daher meist von sich auf andere. Das führt dazu, dass es vielleicht gut aussieht, aber nichts mit der anderen Person, die man ansprechen will, zu tun hat. Knapp daneben ist halt auch vorbei!
Wenn Du so erfolgreich Design gemacht hast, warum hast Du dann aufgehört?
Nach über 28 Kollektionen wurde es allmählich langweilig, und außerdem hasse ich die Variation der Variation. PUMA war mit seinem Erfindungsreichtum am Ende und hat dann einfach nur noch das Erfolgsrezept auf andere Sportarten übertragen und weiter ausgerollt. Es ging nur noch um Kommerz. Noch mehr Gewinn. Die Menschen spielten da praktisch gar keine Rolle mehr.
Was waren Deine erfolgreichsten Produkte bei PUMA?
Der Speed Cat und dessen Nachfolger Future Cat aus der Motorsportkollektion, die retro-inspirierten Taschenlinien und natürlich auch Fußbälle.
Rückblickend, würdest Du noch einmal zu PUMA gehen?
Ja, jederzeit. PUMA war mein Leben, und ich konnte sehr viel lernen.
Du bist beruflich viel unterwegs gewesen. Hast Du interessante Menschen auf Deinem Weg kennengelernt?
Ja, ich habe vom einfachen, sehr, sehr netten pakistanischen Reisbauern bis zum Stardesigner, Schauspieler und Milliardär viele interessante Menschen getroffen. Dabei waren immer die Einfachsten die Glücklichsten. Das viele Geld hatte keinen von denen glücklich gemacht.
Warum wohnst Du eigentlich in Bamberg?
Ich habe fast alle wichtigen Metropolen auf der Welt kennengelernt und fand sehr viele schöne und wunderbare Orte vor. Doch bei Bamberg war es Liebe auf den ersten Blick!
Gibt es ein perfektes Design?
Ja, für mich ist das der Aston Martin DB9. Der hat fantastische Proportionen. Jede Linie passt perfekt und hat nichts zu viel. Kein Flügel, keine Hutze. Eben, Rasen mit Stil.
Warum bist Du nicht zu Aston Martin gegangen?
Aston Martin ist schon bestens aufgestellt. Ich glaube, dass mein Beitrag zur Kunst eine ganz große Veränderung mit sich bringen kann. Niemand außer mir scheint die Bedeutung von Retro in der Kunst zu sehen. Es gibt in diesem Feld einfach noch zu viel zu tun; und es geht darum, vielen Menschen die Augen zu öffnen.
Hast Du Vorbilder in der Malerei?
Ja, zwei ganz großartige Maler: Francisco de Zurbarán, ein Spanier aus dem 17. Jahrhundert, und Giorgio Morandi, ein Italiener, der 1964 gestorben ist.


Warum malst Du ausgerechnet Stillleben?
Bei dem Studium der Malerei von Francisco de Zurbarán sind mir besonders die "stillen Ecken" in seinen großformatigen Bildern aufgefallen und die Ruhe des knienden Franz von Assisi in Aachen. Dieses Insichgekehrte hat mich außerordentlich fasziniert, und so bin ich nach und nach auf seine Stillleben als Besonderheit gestoßen. Diese zeigen den spanischen Blick auf die Alltäglichkeit und nicht den Prunk flämischer oder holländischer Stillleben. Das fand ich beeindruckend; und ich fragte mich, wie man die eigene Welt zeitgenössisch darstellen könnte. Das war der Ausgangspunkt meiner Diplomarbeit "Die Gegenstände kommen ins Bild".
Warum malst Du keine Personen?
Ich kann sehr gut Personen zeichnen, das kann man bei den Skizzen zum "Strand meiner Träume" erkennen; schließlich habe ich Aktzeichnen studiert. Meine Malerei ist geprägt von der Idee, dass man nur das realistisch malen soll, was man nicht sieht. Da sehen Menschen dann eher aus, als wären sie missgebildet. Doch warum sollte ich Menschen verändern? Ich möchte doch Ihr Verhalten erklären. Dazu brauche ich die Abbildung von Menschen nicht - ähnlich wie bei den Stillleben Zurbaráns.
Hörst Du beim Malen Musik?
Ja, immer! Ich finde Musik überaus inspirierend, und wenn Text und Musik zusammenkommen, findet man den perfekten Song - je nach Stimmungslage.
Woher nimmst Du Deine Inspiration?
Durch Beobachtungen und Selbsterlebtes. Mein Gedankenkoffer ist voll davon, und neue Dinge kommen schließlich auch dazu. Ich bin mir heute über mein Unterbewusstsein viel mehr im klaren als noch als junger Mensch. Zudem habe ich heute das Selbstvertrauen, auch zu meiner Sicht auf die Welt zu stehen und eventuelle Kritik auszuhalten.
Wie lange brauchst Du für ein Bild?
Ungefähr drei Monate. Meine Technik lässt ein schnelleres Arbeiten nicht zu. Allerdings male ich selbstverständlich an mehreren Bildern gleichzeitig.
Was wünschst Du Dir in der Welt der Kunst?
Offenheit statt modischem Firlefanz. Außerdem, dass die Museen gezwungen wären ohne Subventionen auszukommen. Und: Galerien mit mehr Sinn für Kunst und nicht Kommerz.
Was ist Deiner Meinung nach in der zeitgenössischen Kunst falsch gelaufen?
Ich halte Joseph Beuys für einen der am meisten missverstandenen Künstler des 20. Jahrhunderts. Er hat die Tür der Kunst für jeden Trottel aufgemacht, und nun latschen alle wirr herum und denken, sie müssten mit ihrem Mist die Welt beglücken, obwohl sie nichts zu sagen haben.
Kannst Du etwas nicht leiden?
Ja, und zwar wenn man etwas gegenständlich malt, was es in der realen Welt schon gibt. Das ist nämlich völlig sinnlos und beschäftigt nur den Maler. Der Betrachter könnte auch ein Foto anschauen, denn damit kommt die Botschaft genauso an.
Was hasst Du am meisten?
Opportunismus, Ignoranz; und dass die meisten Menschen von oben auf andere herabblicken. Und Schein statt Sein.
Du bist Anfang 40. Hast Du noch Ziele im Leben?
Natürlich, ich möchte mich nach der turbulenten und stressigen Zeit in der Industrie den wirklich wichtigen Dingen im Leben widmen. Dem Geld hinterherzujagen hat keinen Sinn, und ich hatte immer große Angst davor, ein riesiges Haus mit goldenem Elektro-Tor zu bewohnen. So etwas kauft man sich nämlich, wenn man nicht weiß, was man mit dem verdienten Geld tun soll. Im Blick nach vorne, dachte ich mir, dass bei den vielleicht verbleibenden 30 Jahren etwas wirklich Sinnvolles gemacht werden kann. Nicht nur für mich, sondern auch für andere. Deshalb würde ich mein Wissen auch gerne an jüngere Menschen weitergeben.

...zurück
Ralf Metzenmacher | Am Leinritt 9a 96049 Bamberg | Tel: +49 (0) 951 95 70 174 | eMail: info@ralf-metzenmacher.com | Impressum